Notables, Jan. 19

January 21, 2014 

• Harvard students Josh Zoffer of Chapel Hill and a 2010 graduate of Durham Academy, and Ben Sprung-Keyser, of California, won the World University Debate Championships in Chennai, India on January 4, 2014. The WUDC is the largest debate tournament in the world, with 1200 college students from 350 universities in 60 countries competing. This is the first US win in more than a decade and the first Harvard win since 1993.

The motion debated in the final, Championship Round, was "This House Believes that India should adopt aggressive free market policies, including but not limited to deregulating labor market, allowing greater level of foreign direct investments and privatizing state-owned enterprises." Zoffer and Sprung-Keyser are believed to be the youngest team ever to win, as winners typically are Masters or PhD students.

The team are the current National Champions of the American Parliamentary Debate Association. Zoffer is also a two-time state champion in debate in NC.

• The following students from Durham have been named to UNC Asheville's Fall 2013 Dean's List.

Sydney Golden Anderson, Abigail Louise Billman, Caitlin Riane Connelly, Patrick Edmund Frame, Erich Michael Hoffmann, Nathan Craig Hoffmeier, Lily Anna Joyal, Linda Kofler, Enrica Monique McMillan, Hannah Laurette Noel, Cerridwen Christianna O'Connor, Zevi Geller Ryan, Jacob Adam Stern, and Hannah Beatrice Wilson.

Anna Michelle Frate and Leslie E Pierce both made the Chancellor’s List.

Durham News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service